Board of Directors

 2016 BoardSeattle chapter members elect the Board of Directors each year in May. Appointments last for one year beginning in June. Nominations for Board positions begin in early spring. For more information please contact

If you’re not quite ready to serve on the Board, we’d love for you to be involved. We offer several committee opportunities for current AWC members. To learn more, please visit the Get Involved page.

Your 2017-2018 AWC Seattle Professional Chapter Board of Directors:


Laura Ware

President: Laura Ware

Laura is Principal, Head of Strategy & Content at Flying Crow Creative. She is a veteran of the communications industry, with more than 20 years of experience in branding, marketing and creative management. She has a passion for assessing the position of businesses in the marketplace and helping them strategically build their brands.

Prior to launching her own firm, Laura was the SVP of Creative at Frause, where her team secured numerous awards for their work on behalf of a variety of clients. Laura’s email address is


Tina Christiansen, VP Finance/Treasurer

Tina Christiansen

VP Finance/Treasurer: Tina Christiansen

Tina has been a member of the AWC Seattle chapter since 1990. In 2014 she received the Georgina MacDougall Davis Founder’s Award. She has been VP of Finance for the past three years and previously served as President, Secretary, Historian and VP of Communications.

Tina, a communications consultant and copywriter, owns and runs Write as Rain Communications and has more than 25 years of experience in communications disciplines. Tina graduated from the UW as a communications major. Her email address is



Casey Decker

VP Recording Secretary: Casey Decker

Casey is a freelance editor and the owner of The Meticulous Type, an editorial services company. A full-time editor since 2014, she edits a wide variety of materials for individuals, companies, and nonprofit organizations.

Prior to becoming an editor, Casey was an attorney for the Federal Trade Commission, where she handled major consumer protection cases. Casey received a Certificate in Editing from the University of Washington; a J.D. degree from Seattle University School of Law (formerly the University of Puget Sound School of Law), and a B.A. in History from Washington State University. Casey can be contacted at



Ishwarya Rajendran

VP, Membership:  Ishwarya Rajendran

Ishwarya completed her degree in Communications with a minor in International Studies at the University of Washington. She joined the Seattle professional chapter two years ago, while a student at UW, and served as VP of Student Affairs and Secretary.

She finds it tremendously rewarding working with like-minded professionals who are dedicated to advancing women in their professional careers and enhancing their connections and individual growth. As a student, she had the pleasure to connect her peers to great opportunities and benefits offered by AWC.

Ishwarya’s email address is



Faiza Jooma

Programs & Events: Faiza Jooma

Faiza is a recent graduate from UW with a double degree in Business Administration and Communications. She served on the UW student chapter board for the past three years, including a term as President her senior year. She is currently interning at Zillow through summer 2016.

Faiza may be reached at


VP Marketing & Communications (MarCom):
MarCom can be reached at:


Connie Mennie

Past President: Connie Mennie

As the Communications Officer for the City of Marysville, Connie wears many hats: Public Information Officer, communications strategist, storyteller, content marketer and project wrangler.

She has built her communications career with a
focus on local government and worked previously
for Sound Transit and Snohomish County. A former weekly newspaper editor, Connie focuses on delivering clear, compelling public communications.


Connie’s work has earned many awards, including an AWC Clarion for best newsletter. Connie’s email address is


President-Elect: Open


Cathy Stevens, Historian

Cathy Stevens

Historian (ex officio): Cathy Stevens

Cathy has been a member of AWC since 1967, when she joined Theta Sigma Phi honorary sorority at the University of Washington.

Over the years Cathy has served in many Board positions, including President in 2003-2004.  She also served as Chair of the 2009 AWC Centennial Conference Committee. Her professional background is in marketing and advertising.

Women helping women build and sustain their communications careers