Scholarships and Awards

AWC champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence and promoting leadership. Each year we celebrate our exceptional members and future communications professionals with scholarships and awards.

AWC Student Scholarships

2016 Scholarship Winner

2016 AWC Scholarship Winner, UW Journalism student Kelsey Hamlin


Every year the AWC Seattle Professional Chapter awards scholarships to outstanding communications students attending Washington state colleges and universities.

Interested students may check out the Scholarship application packet to learn more.



The Georgina MacDougall Davis Founder’s Award

2016 Georgina Winner Dana Van Nest with 2015 winner Connie Mennie

Established in 1976, the Georgina MacDougall Davis Founder’s Award (affectionately nicknamed the Georgina) is named after the University of Washington journalism student who founded the Theta Sigma Phi journalism society in 1909, which would later become the AWC.

The Founder’s Award is given annually to a Seattle Chapter member who consistently exhibits the highest ethics, professional excellence and personal commitment in everything she does.

You may click here for a list of past recipients of the Georgina.

Seattle Star Award

The Seattle Star award honors a chapter member whose exceptional volunteer work within the last year has greatly benefited AWC Seattle. Examples may include expanding the range or adding value to the chapter’s member benefits and/or bringing increased public attention to the chapter’s mission, programs and services.

For more information about AWC’s national awards, visit the AWC National Awards & Recognitions page.

Women helping women build and sustain their communications careers